Text Sizer

  • font sizeA
  • A
  • A
Update on Changes to the County of Newell Electoral Division Boundaries

During a special County of Newell Council meeting held on Tuesday, Dec. 29, 2020, County Council proceeded with second and third reading of Bylaw 1998-20 (click to view).  The purpose of the Bylaw is to change the number of County Council members to seven (7) and formally establish boundaries for seven (7) electoral divisions.

County of Newell ratepayers may choose to proceed with a petition objecting to the passage of the Bylaw, which if signed by electors representing 10% of the County’s population and submitted within 60 days from December 23, 2020, and subsequently being declared to be a valid petition, could force a formal plebiscite vote on the future of Bylaw.  Details regarding the submission of a formal petition were advertised in the December 16 and 23 issues of the Brooks Bulletin and the Bassano Times. (Click to view the notice)

Provided that the outcome of the petition period passes without a petition being submitted, Bylaw 1998-20 will form the basis for the Oct. 18, 2021 Local Authorities Election for the County of Newell Council.


Click to visit our Public Participation page -