Safety Code Permits

The process for obtaining safety code permits is regulated by the Alberta Safety Codes Council. The Safety Codes Council derives its authority from the Safety Codes Act and the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

The County has been accredited since March 2011 to issue permits for all 5 construction disciplines, including building, electrical, gas, plumbing and private sewage disposal systems. Developers must obtain safety codes permits through the County office.

The County has contracted an inspection agency, Park Enterprises Ltd., to provide support and certified inspectors to review plans, and inspect work carried out under these permits.

By providing in-house safety codes permits and contracted inspections, the County has reduced the cost of these permits to the landowner. At the same time, the County is ensuring that structures are being built according to the Alberta Building Code.

As of February 1, 2014, all dwellings must be entered into the registry at ResidentialProtection.Alberta.ca. The register number must be provided to the County before a building permit can be issued. For more information, go to New Home Warranty – Overview.

What is a Safety Code Permit?

Do I need a Safety Code Permit?

Safety Code Permit Process

Apply for a Safety Code Permit

Official Website of the County of Newell

Site Map