Voter Information

Important Dates 

Nomination Day – September 20, 2021
Nomination Papers will be received beginning January 1, 2021 until 12:00 Noon on Nomination Day September 20, 2021 during regular business hours.
Nomination Papers Received at:  County of Newell Office (½ a mile south of the CRA on Young Road)

Advance Vote - October 2, 2021& October 13, 2021

10:00 am - 6:00 PM
(View Notice of Advance Vote)

Voting Station Location:  County of Newell Office, 183037 Range Road 145 (1/2 mile south of the Centennial Regional Arena) 

Election Day - October 18, 2021
10:00 am – 8:00 pm
(View Notice of Election Day)

Voting for the Senate Election and the Referendum Questions and County Councillor Division Elections, where required, will be located at the Voting Stations below. These locations will also be advertised on the local radio stations, in the Brooks Bulletin, and in the Bassano Times.

Division 1 
Rolling Hills Community Hall

135034 Hwy 875, Rolling Hills
Division 2 
Tilley Community Center

148  3rd Ave East, Tilley
Division 3 
Patricia Community Hall

236 Center Street, Patricia 
Division 4 
Rainier Community Center

160077 Hwy 873, Rainier
Division 5 Division 10 
County of Newell Office in 
Council Chambers

183037 Rge. Rd. 145 
Division 6 
Bassano Community Hall

610  2nd Ave. Bassano
Division 7 
Rosemary Recplex Center

525 Center Street, Rosemary 
Division 8 
Duchess Recreation Center

256 Louise Ave. West, Duchess  
Division 9 
Gem Community Center

231075 Rge. Rd. 164, Gem 


Voter Identification

Voter Identification will be required at the 2021 Municipal Election.  Each voter must produce one (1) piece of identification that establishes BOTH the elector’s name and current address.  A list of acceptable forms of identification can be viewed here.

If a voter’s identification shows a post office box number as the address instead of a residential or legal address, it can be accepted as verification of current address if it is in reasonable distance to the voting jurisdiction.  The address does not have to be in the voting division or ward.  

Voter Eligibility

A person is eligible to vote if they:

  • are at least 18 years old,
  • are a Canadian citizen, and
  • have resided in Alberta for the 6 consecutive months immediately preceding election day and the person’s place of residence is located in the area on Election Day.

Rules of Residence/Where to Vote

A person may be a resident of only one place at a time for the purposes of voting under this Act.  The residence of a person is the place where the person lives and sleeps and to which, when absent, he/she intends to return.  The voter is only eligible to vote at the voting station in the Division in which their place of residence is located on Election Day.

Official Website of the County of Newell

Site Map